Observer states and organizations

Observer states and organizations

The institution of observer plays an important role in the EAG’s activities.

15 states and 24 international and regional organizations have observer status within the Eurasian group.

According to the Agreement on the Eurasian Group on combating money laundering and financing of terrorism all states and organizations seeking EAG observer status submit a relevant application to the Plenary via the Secretariat. The decision to grant observer status is made by the Plenary.

States or organizations with observer status may:

  • participate at the Working Groups meetings and the Plenary;
  • circulate via the Secretariat written statements in the working languages of EAG on matters of interest that fall within EAG competence;
  • receive public documents and decisions of EAG as may be necessary from time to time.

Holders of observer status do not have right to vote on decisions at Plenary or the right to sign EAG documents.

Observers present annual reports on the anti-money laundering and combatting financing of terrorism efforts and contributions to EAG, including joint efforts with member-states.

States or organizations with observer status having informed the Secretariat beforehead provide member states with both assistance in staff training, exchange of experience and specialists, logistical support, and financial aid needed to accomplish EAG goals.

Observer states

Italy (since October 2004, the Inaugurational conference);
United States (since October 2004, the Inaugurational conference);
Ukraine (since October 2004, the Inaugurational conference);
Moldova (since December 2004, the 1st EAG Plenary Meeting);
Türkiye (since December 2005, the 3rd EAG Plenary Meeting);
Armenia (since May 2006, the 4th EAG Plenary Meeting);
Afghanistan (since May 2006, the 4th EAG Plenary Meeting);
Poland (since December 2007, the 7th EAG Plenary Meeting);
Serbia (since June 2010, the 12th EAG Plenary Meeting);
Montenegro (since June 2010, th 12th EAG Plenary Meeting);
France (from October 2004 to December 2011 and since May 2012, the 16th EAG Plenary Meeting);
Mongolia (since May 2012, the 16th EAG Plenary Meeting);
Korea (since December 2015, the 23rd EAG Plenary Meeting);
Iran (since June 2016, the 24th EAG Plenary Meeting);
Germany (since July 2020, the 32nd EAG Plenary Meeting).

Observer organizations

Asian Development Bank (since December 2008, the 9th EAG Plenary Meeting);

Asia/Pacific Group on Money Laundering (APG) (since December 2009, th 11th EAG Plenary Meeting);
The Commonwealth of Independent States Anti-Terrorism Center (CIS ATC) (since November 2014, the 21st EAG Plenary Meeting);
World Bank (since October 2004, the Inaugurational conference).
Financial Action Task Force on Money Laundering (FATF) (since October 2004, the Inaugurational conference);

Middle East & North Africa Financial Action Task Force (MENAFATF) (since June 2011, the 14th EAG Plenary Meeting);

Egmont Group (since May 2012, the 16th EAG Plenary Meeting);
Eurasian Economic Commission (since June 2016, the 24th EAG Plenary Meeting);
Eurasian Development Bank (since December 2008, the 9th EAG Plenary Meeting);
European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD) (since June 2007, the 6th EAG Plenary Meeting);
Interpol (since October 2004, the Inaugurational conference);
Commonwealth of Independent States (Executive Committee) (CIS) (since October 2004, the Inaugurational conference);
Counter-Terrorism Committee (UN CTC) (since December 2010, the 11th EAG Plenary Meeting);
International Monetary Fund (IMF) (since October 2004, the Inaugurational conference);
Collective Security Treaty Organization (CSTO) (since October 2004, the Inaugurational conference);
The Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE) (since December 2006, the 5th EAG Plenary Meeting);
Council of Europe Committee of Experts on the Evaluation of Anti-Money Laundering Measures and the Financing of Terrorism (MONEYVAL) (since April 2005, the 2nd EAG Plenary Meeting);
United Nations Office for Drugs and Crime (UN ODC) (since October 2004, the Inaugurational conference);
Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) (since October 2004, the Inaugurational conference);
Central Asian Regional Information and Coordination Centre for combating the illicit trafficking of narcotic drugs, psychotropic substances and their precursors (CARICC) (since November 2017, the 27th EAG Plenary Meeting)
United Nations Analytical Support and Sanctions Monitoring Team (1267) (since May 2018, the 28th EAG Plenary Meeting)
New Development Bank (NDB) (since May 2019, the 30th EAG Plenary Meeting)
Bureau for the Coordination of the Fight against Organized Crime (BCBOP) (since November 2019, the 31st EAG Plenary Meeting)
Council of Heads of Financial Intelligence Units of Member States of the Commonwealth of Independent States (CHoFIU) (since June 2023, the 38th EAG Plenary meeting)

Great Britain, Georgia and Japan held observer status in the EAG from 2004 to November 2011.

Germany held observer status in the EAG from 2004 to June 2016. 

Prior to being admitted as members, Uzbekistan had observer status (from October 2004), Turkmenistan (December 2007) and India (December 2007).

EAEU held observer status in the EAG from October 2004 to January 2015.

Lithuania held observer status in the EAG from December 2006 to November 2020.